Week of May 21, 2001



CAPE GIRARDEAU, Mo., May 18, 2001 - The Harry L. Crisp Bootheel Education Center (CBEC) will hold summer registration May 31 and June 1 for Three Rivers Community College courses taken at the CBEC. Summer classes begin June 4.

Fall registration will be June 16 - July 17 for Three Rivers Community College courses taken at the CBEC. Fall classes begin Aug. 16.

See Lisa Webb for registration information or call (573) 276-4577 or (888) 213-4601.

top of page


CAPE GIRARDEAU, Mo., May 18, 2001 - Licensed child care providers in Cape Girardeau, Scott, Bollinger and Perry counties were honored for their dedication to providing quality care for young children during a National Child Care Provider Appreciation Day Reception May 11 at Southeast Missouri State University.

Child Care Resource and Referral, Educare and the Southeast Regional Affiliate of the Association for the Education of Young Children hosted the reception to recognize area licensed providers for the work they do with young children. The event was held in the University Center Party Room.

top of page


CAPE GIRARDEAU, Mo., May 18, 2001 - Jennifer Lane of Troy, Ill., was presented with the Spirit of Southeast Award April 25 at the annual Student Leadership Awards Banquet at Southeast Missouri State University.

Dr. Kenneth W. Dobbins, president of Southeast Missouri State University, selected Lane for the award based on her academic accomplishments, involvement in campus life and her commitment to service to the University and the community.

“It was a great surprise and honor,” said Lane, who is the first ever recipient of the Spirit of Southeast Award.

Lane, a senior at Southeast, is a superior student, majoring in elementary education. She has been actively involved in leadership roles in many aspects of campus life during her four years at Southeast. She has been president of Panhellenic Council, a two-term chairperson of the Emerging Leaders program and president of the Presidential Ambassadors organization. She also has been an officer and board member of her sorority, Alpha Delta Pi.

“The combination of so many diverse leadership positions is truly extraordinary,” said Dobbins, who presented Lane with the award.

In addition to her commitment to campus life, Lane has demonstrated a deep commitment to service. She has served on the Greek Strategic Planning Committee, the Search Committee for Coordinator of Student Involvement, the Funding Board of Student Government, the University Athletic Committee and the Southeast Missouri University Foundation’s Student Division for the capital campaign. She also has served as co-coordinator for Greek Life 101, a member of the Panhellenic recruitment team and co-coordinator for “Something of Value,” a program dealing with risk management for the Greek system.

“Jenny’s record of exceptional participation in the life of the University and balance between academic, social development and campus activities make her the ideal first recipient of the Spirit of Southeast Award,” Dobbins said.

top of page


CAPE GIRARDEAU, Mo., May 18, 2001 - The Cape Girardeau and Jackson locations of the Missouri License Bureau will expand their hours of operation effective June 1.

The new hours of operation will be Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. To accommodate the traditionally large volume of transactions at the end of the month, the offices will be open from 8 a.m. to noon on the last Saturday of each month.

By adding more hours of service in the morning and afternoon, the License Bureaus will provide an additional four and one-half hours per week in the Cape Girardeau office and an additional one and one-half hours per week in the Jackson office.

These changes make the hours the same at both offices, provide additional customer service during the week and accommodate the needs of the public at the end of the month near due dates for license renewals.

top of page


CAPE GIRARDEAU, Mo., May 18, 2001 - Twenty-six of the best young writers in Missouri from 59 schools in the Southeast Missouri and St. Louis metropolitan areas were honored April 28 at the 28th Annual Southeast Missouri Writing Achievement Awards program held in the University Center at Southeast Missouri State University.

The program was begun in 1982 by the University’s Department of English. The Department of English sponsors the annual program to encourage students in grades four through 12 in their writing.

This year’s luncheon followed a presentation on performance poetry by Sharon Anderson, children’s librarian at Cape Girardeau Public Library. Anderson’s presentation was entitled “For Writing Out Loud!”

This year, 59 schools from the Southeast Missouri area participated with 246 students entering their writing. The winning entries, judged by a team of Southeast Missouri State University English professors, represent some of the best young writers in the state.

At the ceremony, first place awards and two honorable mention awards were presented to writers of fiction, essays, and poetry in three grade ranges: grades 4 - 6, 7 - 9, and 10 - 12. The winning entries were published in booklet form and presented to the winners and their schools. Each first-place winner also was awarded a special T-shirt and a certificate for their achievement.

Winners in the essay division are: from grades 4-6, Kathryn Manion of Park Hills, Kristin Beaty of Ballwin and Jennifer Watson of Jackson; from grades 7-9, Tyler Dumey of Jackson, Sara Meadows of Jackson and Gina Oldsen of Steele; from grades 10-12, Melinda Sung of St. Louis, Matthew Johnson of St. Louis and Rebecca Bauman of St. Louis.

Winners in the poetry division are: from grades 4-6, Jasen Price of Cape Girardeau, Taylor Gardner of Fenton and Sarah Robison of Advance; from grades 7-9, Amber Leirer of Jackson, Derek Tesser of Chesterfield and Tiffani Harris of Poplar Bluff; from grades 10-12 are Jason Ray of O’Fallon, Ellie Grix of Farmington and Elliot Pollard of Florissant.

Winners in the fiction division are: from grades 4-6, Emily Ladendorf of Ballwin, Cassie Seiler of Leopold and Amanda Rhodes of Arnold; from grades 7-9, Amanda Sutterer of Jackson, Hong Pham of St. Louis and Claire Edwards of Cape Girardeau; from grades 10-12 are Charles Winkle of Senath, Alayna Chartrau of Essex and Jason Ray of O’Fallon.

top of page