Southeast Missouri State University
For more information, contact:
Ann K. Hayes (573) 651-2552




CAPE GIRARDEAU, Mo., Nov. 8, 2002 -- For many women, the first step to becoming more involved in policy issues that impact their community is to participate on a public policy committee.

On Tuesday, Nov. 19, from 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m., the Sue Shear Institute for Women in Public Life at the University of Missouri - St. Louis and Women in Public Life at Southeast Missouri State University will co-host "The Inside Scoop on Appointments to Public Boards and Commissions."

Women in Public Life (WIPL) is a student organization at Southeast Missouri State University, founded by graduates of the Institute's 21st Century Leadership Academy.

A panel of appointment officials will share their expertise of the selection process, including desired qualifications of appointees, and how public policy is impacted by decisions of boards and commissions. Panelists include Chris Brown, director, Boards and Commissions Office of the Governor, State of Missouri; Marilyn Williams, director, Division of Professional Registration, Missouri Department of Economic Development; Kathy Swan, member, Governor's Business Education Roundtable; Bekki Cook, member, Southern Growth Policy Board; and Vivian Eveloff, director, Sue Shear Institute for Women in Public Life, University of Missouri - St. Louis.

The session will be held in the University Center Ballroom. Cost for the program is $15, including lunch. Southeast's University Center is located at the corner of Henderson Street and Normal Avenue. For information, directions and registration for the "Inside Scoop," contact Dr. Ginny Moore, WIPL faculty sponsor, at (573) 986-6121 or the Sue Shear Institute at (314) 516-6623. For more information about the Sue Shear Institute, visit or contact Women in Public Life, Southeast Missouri State University at


Return to Campus News Headlines

© 2019 Southeast Missouri State University
Page maintained by the News Bureau
For more information contact the Director of the News Bureau, Ann Hayes, (573) 651-2552.