Southeast Missouri State University
For more information, contact:
Ann K. Hayes (573) 651-2552




CAPE GIRARDEAU, Mo., Sept. 27, 2002 - Gov. Bob Holden has appointed Dr. Kenneth W. Dobbins, president of Southeast Missouri State University, to the Missouri Commission on the Delta Regional Authority.

Dobbins is one of eight members appointed to the Commission. Other appointees are James Dancy of Squires; Mary Heywood of Bourbon; William Kennon Jr. of Doniphan; Patrick McHaney of Kennett; Kenneth Minton on Dexter; Timmie Morgan Hunter of New Madrid; and Thomas Tucker of Perryville.

"The Missouri Commission on the Delta Regional Authority has a very important job," Holden said. "The impact this commission will have on rural interests should be great, and I know these members are dedicated to achieving real economic improvement in the Delta Region."

Dobbins says the Delta Regional Authority will play a vital role in the economic well-being of the University's service region.

"The Delta Regional Authority will bring the resources of the federal and state government to the region for economic growth and will provide the infrastructure and job training needed to bring prosperity to the Delta," Dobbins said. "I am honored to be named to the commission and am pleased to be a part of future policy development and programs for the Delta area."

In coordination with the federal government and the passage of House Concurrent Resolution 25 last legislative session, the Missouri Commission on the Delta Regional Authority was authorized. This authority covers eight states - Missouri, Arkansas, Louisiana, Tennessee, Illinois, Kentucky, Mississippi and Alabama. In Missouri, the commission covers 29 counties - Bollinger, Butler, Cape Girardeau, Carter, Crawford, Dent, Douglas, Dunklin, Howell, Iron, Madison, Mississippi, New Madrid, Oregon, Ozark, Pemiscot, Perry, Phelps, Reynolds, Ripley, Scott, Shannon, St. Francois, Ste. Genevieve, Stoddard, Texas, Washington, Wayne and Wright. The goal of the commission is to increase economic opportunity through development. The priorities are: transportation, regional investment opportunities, educational opportunities and quality of life.


Return to Campus News Headlines

© 2019 Southeast Missouri State University
Page maintained by the News Bureau
For more information contact the Director of the News Bureau, Ann Hayes, (573) 651-2552.